Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

I feel stupid for my Japanese

youngbin   June 22nd, 2010 4:11a.m.

Hi, I'm quite a newbie here as well as studying Chinese. (It's been a little more than a week now!) I accidentally ran across skritter last Friday, and I've tried out since. Hell, it's free trial! And I'm a language learning geek. (I feel like I'm spending more time to search for tools than study languages.)

Here I am. After 4 days of trial, my Chinese characters learned has reached 350, and I felt really great when I tried writing some basic characters, like 我,那,or 做, on a paper. I didn't have any trouble to write them. Amazing!

Why am I so amazed? Here is a confession to make. I've teaching myself Japanese almost for 3 years now. I'm quite confident in Japanese conversation. I've been focusing on listening, speaking and recently reading. Writing has never been a part of my study journal. However, now I started feeling stupid for my Japanese lacking writing skill. I mean, at all. When I write a memo in Japanese, all the characters I use are hiragana. It looks like someone who studied Japanese for a month wrote them.

So.

I will keep subscribing to skritter even after free trial. Maybe I need to brush up on my Japanese characters as well. Well, 'brush up' might not be an appropriate word for it.

Huge thanks from Korea. :)

nick   June 22nd, 2010 11:11a.m.

Welcome, youngbin! Sounds like you're well on your way to language pro-ness: you just have to add in the characters and then you'll be good to go. Skritter will go up to 250mph on kanji if you already know the other parts of Japanese.