Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Windows 7 Chinese language pack

jcdoss   April 14th, 2010 5:36p.m.

My basic question is... which one do I install, or maybe which ones? Is there one set that recognizes both traditional and simplified characters?

I have a tablet and want to use it to practice handwriting directly into Windows applications, but the ZH set doesn't seem to recognize simplified characters, and CH doesn't seem to recognize traditional ones.

I'm just getting started w/Mandarin, so treat me like a complete neophyte. Any help appreciated!

murrayjames   April 14th, 2010 5:51p.m.

hey jcdoss,

I use Windows 7 too. The language pack translates your entire OS into Chinese, i.e., it gives you a Chinese version of Windows. Menus, popup windows, etc.--all in Mandarin. If you have Windows 7 Ultimate, you can download language packs through Windows Update.

As a beginning student that's probably not what you want. My guess is you want to type and handwrite in Chinese. You do this by adding a keyboard, which you can do in any version of Windows.

Go to your Control Panel. Under the

I assume you're talking about the ability to use Chinese keyboards. There are separate language packs for Simplified and Tradition If you already have the language pack installed, then you should be able to display fonts without difficulty.

If you want your OS in Mandarin, you need to download the appropriate Language pack from Windows Update. You can only do this i

murrayjames   April 14th, 2010 5:52p.m.

Didn't mean to send that, can't edit my post. Hang on.

murrayjames   April 14th, 2010 6:28p.m.

jcdoss,