Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Chinesepod

KittenAzael   April 8th, 2010 9:10p.m.

Currently, i have a subscription to a website called chineseclass101, I got a years sub back when i first decided i wanted to learn Chinese but i haven't used it much since then because i started taking actual lessons.

Unfortunately it looks like there isn't going to be enough people interested to run the next set of lessons and I'm looking at going back to it. Problem is, it boasts quite a few users but has one of the most inactive forums I've ever seen.

Chinesepod on the other hand (from what i can see) seems to have plenty of people actively using it most of the time.

Has anyone used both and can give me a comparison as to which is better? (Bare in mind i can only afford the most basic package).

Failing that, does anyone here use Chinesepod regularly and is it worth signing up for at some point?

Zach   April 8th, 2010 9:34p.m.

I have a basic subscription to Chinesepod, and I'm somewhere between giving it a lukewarm recommendation and saying don't bother.

It's certainly good for listening practice in the car/out walking/etc, but the other stuff on their website is pretty bleh. If you subscribe to Skritter, there's a bonus in that you can import your vocab from Chinesepod, and Skritter's "flashcards" are far better than how CPod does it.

In any case, there's a free trial, so you can see if it's good for you. No harm in trying.

podster   April 8th, 2010 10:52p.m.