Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

"ng"?

jww1066   March 14th, 2010 4:39p.m.

I'm working on a vocab list for a book I'm studying and it lists 嗯 as "ng4". Skritter has this as "e" with pretty much any tone. Nciku says it's "ng3" or "ng2" or "e" with any tone.

Is there really a difference in pronunciation between "e" and "ng", or is this just a quirk of the Romanization system?

James

Byzanti   March 14th, 2010 4:56p.m.

Not sure if it's official pinyin... Chinese pod uses "ng" for the "You done yet?" "mm" sound.

mike_thatguy   March 14th, 2010 5:47p.m.

Yeah, if I had to Romanize it I would use "m4" or "n4" (or even first tone), but that's not legitimate pinyin.

DrGrace   March 14th, 2010 6:41p.m.

I think it should be en1, based on 恩。

jww1066   March 14th, 2010 6:48p.m.

Sorry, apparently my question wasn't clear enough. What I'm asking is not what the appropriate pinyin is; I'm asking if "ng" and "e" actually represent different sounds in spoken Chinese.

James

Byzanti   March 14th, 2010 6:56p.m.

Given that ng is nonsense as far as Chinese is concerned and could be translated as "mm" or "uh" (an affirmative one), and "e" is proper pinyin with a particular pronunciation, then yes - they're different...

ximeng   March 15th, 2010 4:07a.m.

Byzanti - do you have a source for saying ng is not proper pinyin? My 新时代 汉英大词典 lists 嗯 under ng, and under n with references to the entries under ng. Tones are 2, 3, and 4.

This would suggest they are valid pinyin at least for some. pinyin.info however doesn't list n or ng as valid.

http://pinyin.info/rules/initials_finals.html