Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Japanese issues?

LuaiLashire   February 2nd, 2010 8:25a.m.

I am having a couple of problems with the Japanese version of skritter. The first is that, every single time I log into my account, it automatically switches me back to Chinese, even though I am only studying Japanese. This is really annoying.
The second is that I have no idea what it means when my progress page tells me I have "learned" 250 characters. How does skritter define "learned"? How many times do I have to get a character right before it's considered to have been "learned"? It seems to me that this designation gets applied long before I have actually memorized the character to a sufficient degree to earn it.
The third is that I now have a little message telling me that my subscription has ended, and I'm not getting any new kanji added to my practice. I was under the impression that the Japanese part of this site was free. I checked the blog and the forum, but I saw no references to this having been changed. I'd like to know if this is a bug or if I really need to pay to keep practicing.
I really love the way this site works other than the first two issues, so I'd really like to be able to keep using it. It fills a big gap in my Japanese studies and is the best kanji-learning method I've found yet. :)

scott   February 2nd, 2010 9:29a.m.

Hmm, that's pretty weird. Could you describe more in detail how that happens, like what url you're at when you log in? Do you use clickpass or a password? And what browser you're using? I'm not sure how to reproduce it.