Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Do you think in your second language?

nickybr38   November 19th, 2010 6:33p.m.

This question is for anyone learning a second language.

I've always only been able to speak one language. :\ So I have no experience in this field. My question is for those who speak a second language.

Now, do you THINK in the second language or is your brain constantly translating second to first, first to second? Is there ever a point where the second language feels as natural as the first does?

I'm very new to language learning and so far I'm very much in the translation stage, where my brain is constantly doing this translation thing. I recognize the sounds (謝謝 - for example) and then my brain says; Ah! Thank you!

I read on a language learning blog once that you have to think in the second language but right now that's just not happening for me, my brain just default translates. HAHA. Is it really possible to think in a second language?

What do you think?

Foo Choo Choon   November 19th, 2010 6:59p.m.

I've basically abandoned my native language for everything besides conversations with my relatives, so in my thoughts I use either English or 中文.

Thanks to Skritter, and in fact on of my main motivations behind using this website, is that I am now also able to visualize Chinese thoughts as characters (up to that only pinyin), great as some kind of subconscious revision. The more characters, words etc. I know, the more interesting this visualization becomes, especially when it comes to the parallel imagination of simplified and traditional variants, 真过瘾了!

nick   November 19th, 2010 7:15p.m.