Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

Hiding Pinyin ......

Bohan   July 13th, 2010 1:07a.m.

I just noticed that Skritter doesn't allow hiding pinyin while studying tones ONLY. So, for example, if I want to study the tones of a set of characters without actually drawing the characters, I'm unable to hide the pinyin , because even when I check "Hide Pinyin" in the settings, the pinyin still shows up. The only time the pinyin is hidden is when I'm studying writing and tones, but it won't work for just studying tones.

I actually think it would be much better to have the option to hide the pinyin while studying tones, so that we can't cheat at all by looking at the characters pinyin and then remembering which tone it is.

Bohan   July 13th, 2010 1:10a.m.

and by the way, I did try refreshing the page after I adjusted the settings. It didn't change anything. I also tried going through the list and waiting for the pinyin to disappear. This also made no difference.

Byzanti   July 13th, 2010 3:58a.m.

Sorry, not keen here. Had a lengthy discussion on this once before, somewhere on the forum...

nick   July 13th, 2010 12:15p.m.

Here's one of the threads on it:
http://www.skritter.com/forum/topic?id=30801067

Bohan   July 14th, 2010 1:04a.m.

So we basically can't choose that option, right?

:(

nick   July 14th, 2010 12:26p.m.

It's open for well-reasoned debate still, but I think there won't be a separate preference--it'll be one way or the other. I have heard a number of people wanting the pinyin hidden during tone practice as well, though.

Bohan   July 14th, 2010 1:27p.m.