Looks like the Great Firewall or something like it is preventing you from completely loading www.skritter.com because it is hosted on Google App Engine, which is periodically blocked. Try instead our mirror:

legacy.skritter.cn

This might also be caused by an internet filter, such as SafeEyes. If you have such a filter installed, try adding appspot.com to the list of allowed domains.

tone and pinyin listening problems [non-Skritter]

jww1066   July 25th, 2010 12:57p.m.

I was inspired by a recent forum post to start doing more listening practice (primarily using Anki's "Pronounced Mandarin Chinese Pinyin" deck) and have been a little surprised by the things that are difficult. I should mention that my Chinese study for the last year and half has been 90% Skritter with a little bit of conversation practice and grammar study thrown in, so I am a relative beginner when it comes to listening comprehension.

The Anki deck I'm using plays an audio sample (I think they're even the same samples Skritter uses, the ones with the female speaker) and you're supposed to figure out the pinyin and tone. I set my deck up so I actually have to type in the pinyin and the tone number. This would be an awesome addition to Skritter, hint hint.

The good news is that I get about 85% of them right on the first hearing, and the first and fourth tones are generally easy to identify. This is better than I expected given the relative lack of listening practice I've done; maybe listening passively while practicing on Skritter has done some good. The bad news is that I find certain differences such as yin vs. ying1, can1 vs. zan1, and second tone vs. third tone *extremely* difficult to distinguish even on repeated listening. Part of it is probably the particular speaker; listening to other samples like these, I hear the differences more clearly:

http://www.archchinese.com/arch_pinyin_table.html